the birth of a blog: less messy and more fun than real birth

SO HERE IT IS!!!  Scenesterist, the blog, up and running…sort of.  I’ve got a lot of work to do so just hang in there.  If all goes according to plan, check back on Scenesterist for updates on Phoenix culture, news, eccentricities, opinions, writing, and perhaps even guest posts from notables.

Here’s the plan guys: My name is Channing, your quasi-editor-in-chief and master of ceremonies.  I’m trying to run this circus, but it’s going to take a lot of work.  I’m currently in college, which eats up time, and do two other journalism jobs on the side—but really, that’s nothing unusual for journalists these days.  All this means it’s going to be hard to get this project off the ground, but fear not.  I have great plans.

First I need to learn about WordPress.  I’m currently in an online media class, learning about HTML and all that good stuff, but WordPress already does a lot of that for you.  I just need to mess around with this thing enough to know the in’s and out’s.

Because I’m ultra-busy, I’m not above asking for help.  After all, one person can’t run an entire e-zine, no matter how free he/she is.  So.  While I try to work all this out, I’ll also be recruiting a team of crack journalists—that is, not on crack but skilled, masterful or generally a bang-up group.

And the beauty of this arrangement?  Good, solid writing that, hopefully, you can really get into.  There will be a level of quality control but no limit on admissible material.  If I can post it, it’s golden.  I already have a few souls picked out to start contributing.  MORE SOON!

Leave a Reply

